Philadelphia Film Critics Circle names Everything Everywhere All at Once Best
Picture of 2022, one of five awards for the film.

December 17, 2022

The Philadelphia Film Critics Circle on Saturday voted on its sixth annual year-end
awards, and the choice for Best Film of 2022 was Daniel Kwan and Daniel
‘s Everything Everywhere All at Once.

In addition to Best Film, Everything Everywhere All at Once won Best Director
and Best Script (both for Kwan and Scheinert), Best Supporting Actor (Ke Huy
) and Best Breakthrough Performance (Stephanie Hsu.)

S. S. Rajamouli‘s RRR won three awards, for Best Foreign Language
Film, Best Score/Soundtrack (M. M. Keeravani) and Best Cinematography (K. K.
Senthil Kumar
). And Rian Johnson‘s Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery won two awards, for Best
Supporting Actress (Janelle Monáe), and the circle’s inaugural Best Ensemble

In addition, the Circle presented its Elaine May Award, for a deserving person or
film that brings awareness to a story from a women’s perspective, to Women
, directed by Sarah Polley.

Other winners included Best Actress Cate Blanchett for TÁR, Best Actor Brendan
for The Whale, Best Animated Film for Guillermo Del Toro‘s Pinocchio,
Good Night Oppy for Best Documentary, John Patton Ford Best Debut Film, for
Emily the Criminal.

And for the first time, the Circle presented the Cheesesteak Award. Sponsored by
Philip’s Steaks in South Philly, meant to recognize a blockbuster that’s hard to ignore, and this year’s winner was Top Gun: Maverick.

Full list of winners:

Best FilmEverything Everywhere All At Once (Runner-up: TÁR)
Philip’s Steaks Cheesesteak Award: Top Gun: Maverick (Runner-up: RRR)

Best Director: The Daniels, Everything Everywhere All at Once (Runner-up: Todd
, for TÁR)
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, TÁR (Runner-up: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at
Best Actor: Brendan Fraser, The Whale (Runner-up: Bill Nighy, Living)
Best Supporting Actress: Janelle Monae, Glass Onion (Runner-up: Stephanie Hsu,
Everything Everywhere All at Once)
Best Supporting Actor: Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once
(Runner-up: Brendan Gleeson, Banshees of Inisherin)
Best Foreign Film: RRR (India). Runner-up: Holy Spider (International production)
Best Animated Film: Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio (Runner-up: Turning Red)
Best Documentary: Good Night Oppy (Runner-up: Fire of Love)
Best Cinematography: K.K. Senthil Kumar, RRR. Runner-up: Claudio Miranda,
Top Gun Maverick
Best Breakthrough Performance: Stephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All At
(Runner-up, Austin Butler, for Elvis)
Best Directorial Debut: John Patton Ford, Emily the Criminal (Runner-up: Goran
, You Won’t Be Alone)
Best Script: Everything Everywhere All At Once (Runner-up: Glass Onion)
Best Score/Soundtrack: RRR (Runner-up: TÁR)
Best Ensemble: Glass Onion (Runner-up: Everything Everywhere All at Once)

This was the sixth year of awards since the Circle’s inception in 2017. Get Out was
the 2017 winner for Best Film, while Roma was the choice in 2018, Knives
 won in 2019, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom won for 2020, and The Power of the
was the winner in 2021.

This year’s voting, for the first time, utilized the STAR voting system, an automatic
runoff approach that streamlines the process while adding more value to each
member’s ballots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *